Vegetable Cheese Rice Casserole

Does your family love casseroles?  We are huge casserole people!  We have been big fans of any form of casserole for as long as I can remember.  Both of my grandmothers, mom, aunts, and mother in-law all are great casserole makers which made me start thinking about a good casserole that I could put my own food stamp on. So I began building my own and here is what I came up with……..

Ingredients
White Rice
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Parmesan Cheese
Cheddar Cheese
Salt/ Pepper
Chicken Broth
Bread crumbs
Garlic

In a saucepan, bring chicken broth to a boil.  Next add a lot of chopped broccoli and cauliflower until they start to become tender.  Add appropriate amount of white rice until mixture thickens. Next add a can of cream of chicken soup, and a bunch of your favorite cheeses (I use parmesan and cheddar).  Lastly add garlic and salt/pepper to taste.

Pour mixture into baking dish and cover with more cheese and lastly bread crumbs. Bake an additional 25 mins at 375. After baking, let casserole sit for 10 to let set up.

Hopefully my take on this tasty side dish can make it on your table. I can tell you that my wife highly recommends it! Enjoy!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Bill O'Connor on March 20, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I can positively attest to the goodness of this dish. It’s great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

