Bacon wrapped Meatloaf

When you think of comfort food, what do you think of?  To me, I think of down home southern style cooking.  And when I think of down home southern style cooking, I think of thick cut heartly meatloaf.  That was my most recent creation that I tried.  Below is what I came up with. 

Ingredients

2-3 lbs Ground Beef/Chuck/Sirloin

 1 Onion

1 Fresh Japaneo

1 Green Pepper

1-2 Tomatos

Garlic

Salt Pepper

1 Box of Chicken in a Biscuit Crackers

2-3 Eggs

Ketchup

Bacon

Salt/Pepper

In a mixing bowl combine meat, eggs, diced onion/green pepper/jalapeno/large clove garlic/tomato/salt/pepper and mix together with your hands.  Then add 1/2 to 3/4 of a box of smashed chicken in a biscuit crackers.  I have used all different kinds of crackers in meatloaf, and these seem to pack the most flavor in them so I like to use them.  Next add 1 cup or so of ketchup and mix all ingredients together with you hands.  Once everything is evenly distributed, I like to make 2 even meatloafs.  Once made, I set the loafs on a bed of either fruit or vegetables so the fat can render off the meat and drain into the pan.  You do not want your meatloaf sitting in its own fat drippings.  This step also gives some added flavor to the meatloaf.  The last and most important step, I put strips of bacon over the top of the meatloafs for the last added layer of flavor.  

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.   Once heated up, put loafs in and bake for 45 minutes – 1- hr.  After this, I drizzle ketchup all over the of the meatloaf and put back in the oven for another 30 mins to finish off cooking.   Let sit for 15 minutes to let juices redistribute.  Cut and serve.   Enjoy

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kevin Buckner on January 20, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Where is the picture brah?

    Reply

  2. IT WAS DELICIOUS. No time for pictures Kevin – it was in my belly before he could snap a reasonable photo.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bill O'Connor on January 20, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Sounds delicious…but I’m with Kevin – if I can’t taste it I’d like to see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

