Which Steakhouse is your favorite?

This December was a big month for me when it comes to eating great steak as I was able to eat at 2 of Indianapolis’s premier steakhouses.  My work Christmas party was a couple weeks ago and we were surprised by going to a place I had never been.  We were surprised to learn that we were going to St. Elmos steakhouse downtown.  I absolutely loved the atmosphere.  It was a very fresh and alive place which was a great change from the typical quiet white table cloth type atmosphere that you get usually at high end steakhouses.  The food was really good.  I ordered the 32 oz (yes you read that right) blackened prime rib with BLT Salad.  The BLT Salad was the best salad that I had ever eaten.  It had huge chunks of garden tomato, smoked bacon and blue cheese on top of a bed of lettuce and topped with an oil and vinegar based dressing that was perfect.  The prime rib was very good as well.  Below is a picture of the plate they brought me.  It is safe to say I did not leave hungry.

"The 32 oz Prime Rib"

On the way home from dinner, my co-workers and I started discussing which steakhouse was the best.  The list included Petersons, Sullivans, Mortons, Eddie Merlots, Flemings, Ruths Chris, St Elmos, Skyline Club and the Eagles Nest.  Everyone had different opinions on which was their favorite.  I had to tell them that for my money, the best place is Ruths Chris.  And with a certain milestone birth day on the horizon in December, I saw a perfect opportunity to take my wife to our favorite place.  Every single time we have been to Ruths Chris they have treated us incredibly and the steaks are also the best tasting.  We both order filet cooked medium rare with mashed potatos, asparagus and creamed spinach.  For desert it is always the creme brulee with fresh berries and decaf coffee.  Our thoughts are why mess with perfection?

What is your favorite Steak?  What is your favorite Steak House?  Post your results.  I really want to hear your feedback!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Q on December 23, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Great question! by the way a large shout out to the new proud pappa!

    I would have to agree with you on St.Elmos. Great place to eat steaks. The place first opened mainly for lunch for all of the wharehouse workers in downtown indy. They would give a free lunch plate with each beer purchase. They have come a long way. Ffact…after each Colts home game, Peyton Manning goes to Elmos for with close family and friends. He usually gets the Room downstairs.

    One of my personal favorites is a chain called Smith and Wolenskys. They can cook a mean Porter, which comes out on its own rolling trey. The qaiter will cut and serve it for you. I had the chance to venture into their aging room! Wow! The do not have the shrimp cocktail down as Elmos does, however Yum! Easton OH is 5the closest place to enjoy such cusine.

    Hands down my favorite is my backyard. With rubs imported from TX, I will go up against any place in town! Webber and only charcoal! No gas here brother. Smackin good tastes and cold Shiner, what could be better? I do give lessons for those wh need training in this area. Great to see you back and keep the food posts coming……The Q.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bill O'Connor on December 23, 2010 at 8:35 am

    My favorite Indianapolis steak house is St Elmo’s although I haven’t eaten there in years. I like Ruth Chris wherever I’ve encountered them and Morton’s as well. My favorite steak is filet mignon.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mandi Huff on December 23, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Ruths Chris is my favorite for a filet. St. Elmos for atmosphere, history and amazing food. Mo’s has a really good streak and service was exceptional. Those are my three Indy favorites!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by DJ Smith on December 23, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Any steakhouse billed to the corporate credit card is my favorite. I think elmos would get my vote although haven’t been there in a while. I say you still can’t beat a prime cut over the coals and a cold beer on the back poirch with friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

